EMBRACE SOME BEET ROOT

image
Beet Soup with Bread

Someone asked me what I was doing with so much beet root today. I said I was going to make some great dishes with it and I got an “Eeew. It’s tastes nasty.” Does it really?

Some people say it tastes like dirt. I don’t know. I just thought it was bitter. I’d always push it on the side of the plate whenever it was cooked or just avoid situations where I’d have to put it in my mouth.

But I finally got over the ‘bitterness’ after I learnt that I could prepare it in so many amazing ways and the fact that it is a superfood-a health titan! Who doesn’t want to be healthy?

Beet Root (which by the way belongs in the same family as chard and spinach. Did you know that?) is low in fat, full of vitamins, minerals and it’s also packed with powerful antioxidants. How again are you going to show your body that you love it? -By eating and drinking beet.

It can be roasted, blended into a classic soup or juice; or you could just mix it with vegetables and cheese to make a salad.

I love soup so I had to prepare that first. And I am so HAPPY the people (my family I mean) who had it LOVED it. Though I nearly killed some of them with the chillies.

image

CLASSIC BEET SOUP

Ingredients
4 Beet roots, cubed
2 carrots, diced
2 Tomatoes, diced
1 whole onion, diced
1 whole Garlic clove
Green chillies
Black pepper
Olive oil (or normal cooking oil)
Salt

The easiest way to cook this (according to me) is to place all the ingredients in a cooking pan, add some water till everything is submerged and sprinkle some salt. Let it cook for about 15mins/till the beets and potatoes are soft.

Then take the pan off the fire and let it cool down. Don’t let the food get completely cold. Blend while it’s still warm. Ensuring every ingredient has been completely puréed.

Serve with toasted bread.

If you ever host a dinner party, try having this as your starter.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

