EGG POTATO CASSEROLE

image

Since Wednesday I have not really had the chance to cook, let alone eat properly. I have been on the move most of the time, eating greasy fast foods; whenever I can. And I really missed the kitchen and my cooking (LOL. It happens most of the time)

So today, I had time and I had to make something. Something really nice. I thought of making chicken biryani (been craving…) but I felt really lazy and tired (But I had the strength to pull down Mum’s curtain and use it as a table cloth hahaha… Isn’t it beautiful though?)

I had so many things in mind that I wanted to make but the preparation time… Then I remembered there’s casseroles. They are perfect Sunday dishes especially when you don’t feel like doing much. They are real cozy. All you have to do is combine the prepared ingredients in a casserole dish then place in the oven to cook; that’s the real beauty of casseroles. And you don’t have to stand by and wait for it to cook, set the time and temperature right then the bell will let you know when it’s ready.

Another good thing: the heat is not in direct contact with the food therefore there are no chances of it burning while you are watching TV, updating Instagram or in my case, napping.

That said, let’s make something delish…

image

You will first of all need a casserole dish. It could be ceramic, glass or cast iron with a lid (so long as its oven proof.Note That)

In addition to that you will need;
3 eggs, beaten
Potatoes, thinly sliced
Kales, chopped
5 medium sized carrots, grated
1 small green pepper, sliced
1 tomato, sliced
1 red onion, sliced
Salt
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
Chilli (optional)

Mix all the ingredients together in a bowl except for the eggs, green pepper, tomato and onions. Sprinkle a pinch of salt and toss. Place the mixed ingredients then add the eggs, green pepper, tomatoes and red onions on top. Place in the oven at 180°C for 30 minutes.
Serve with sauce; hot or warm.

For the sauce I used;
Cayenne pepper, corn starch, ground and fresh coriander. Mix a spoonful of corn starch with a cup of water. Let it simmer as you stir then add 2 tsblespoons of cayenne pepper and ground coriander. Let it simmer for about 2 minutes then remove from heat; add fresh coriander leaves.

This can be eaten as breakfast or brunch. I hope you get to try this out; eggs and potatoes are a great combination. They don’t always have to be boiled or fried.

image

Enjoy! 🙂

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Yvonne Waluvengo says:

    Oh wow! This reminds me of “German Farmers Breakfast” which I love! I’ll definitely try out your recipe soon, I’m a huge fun of simple recipes. Great job Tunu!

    http://www.yvonneinbloom.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. delisheatsandsips says:

      Aaaaw 🙂 Thanks so much Yvonne. Try it out & share with me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

