UGANDAN ROLEX 

For a long time I never really figured out what ‘chapati mayai’ was. I thought it was just something made up. Or chapati dipped in eggs or something; I really didn’t know. So when the opportunity for me to get to know it presented itself, I couldn’t wait to taste it. 
We were at some food joint (kibanda) for breakfast and everyone I was with ordered ‘chapati mayai’ so I decided to try it as well. Long story short, It tasted GREAT! (Disclaimer: It MUST be served hot). Now I get how it’s made.
And just a few months ago I realized our chapati mayai is so huge in the neighbouring country Uganda hence the name Ugandan ROLEX. It’s their must have street food. I see it on our streets too but it’s not much of a big deal here. It’s so big there it’s become a tourism product. And the name ‘rolex’ came from ‘rolled eggs’. Due to their local dialect pronouncements, rolled eggs would come out as ‘Rolex’ whenever they mentioned it. Real fancy, right?
The Ugandan ROLEX is pretty easy to make. You just need an omelette and a chapati.

Place the chapati on a plate followed by the omelette and fold inwards. It’s as easy as that. You can accompany that with any preferred condiments. 
For the sauce I used 1 medium sized finely chopped red onions, 2 Tablespoons of honey, 1 Tablespoon soy sauce, 2 Tablespoons of ketchup and a teaspoon of vegetable oil. Place them on a pan and heat on medium heat so that it doesn’t burn. 

Make sure you try this ☺

Leave a Reply

